Posted in Uncategorized

Dear Blog, How I Have Missed You…

I am tired. It is late. Not horribly, but late enough that it could be considered stupid that I am not in bed, or working toward that end, being this exhausted. Here I am anyway. Shalom.

We have been moving for a few weeks now– make no mistake that a move a mere ten minutes away has infinite power to be ridiculously inefficient. Many days have involved loading and unloading my Jetta wagon three or four times, always scanning every item in every load for spiders, always with three kids in tow. Our new place is so far beyond fabulous, my sheer dumb luck overwhelms me. But we are still not fully extricated from our previous dwelling and I am indeed very, very tired from it all.

One piece of the moving puzzle for me (that is costing me intensely, energetically speaking, but that I firmly believe is well worth the effort) has been to evaluate items as we go, so that I’m not bringing anything into our new space that does not meet very stringent criteria. With the kids’ possessions, extra stealth has been essential to the task. While I am not tossing anything that is not mine to toss (because quite bluntly that would make me a horribleĀ ass), I am boxing up items for semi-permanent to permanent storage (we have space apart from the house where I can stow said items). This solves what feels like eighty-million problems I have waged an uphill battle against for years to no avail. My children’s rooms are full and fabulously decorated (BIG thank you to my mom for drinking the Pottery Barn Kids Kool-Aid, WOW my kids’ rooms are mackin’!) and everything that didn’t make the cut is off to the shed to be stored. If an item is remembered (such as, unfortunately, the psycho meowing baby doll in cat pajamas) it’s there to be pulled from the bins. If, after six months to two years, an item hasn’t been mentioned once, off to donation land it goes. In the meantime my rewards are at least threefold: I have less clutter in my house, the kids can see what they still have in their rooms, and all objects have a designated home, making cleanup super easy, both for me and for them. I have asked no one to clean anything, and yet both the big kids are keeping their rooms clean… not to mention that they are actually sleeping in their own beds! Who knew?!

Now, seriously, off to BED!! Perhaps now that we’re mostly settled I’ll feel able to write again …

Author:

seeker, life learner, local food advocate, unabashed treehugger, herbalist, pontificator

Leave a Reply

