Posted in house and home

Project Simplify Week Three: PILES!!!

I have really been looking forward to this one. Piles happen and even though I know they will happen again, it’s nice to clear them out once in a while. So Many Things can hide and be forgotten in a pile! My house is tiny, which is mostly fabulous for a subclinical OCD cleaning freak like me, but it does sometimes stretch my imagination beyond the breaking point to find homes for All The Things. With three kids, one of whom is rather a hoarder, and it gets a little dicey. But check these out!

before pile #1
before pile #1

The box is all my seeds I ordered this year (so many explanations and excuses embodied by that box…). The shoes and at least 75% of the basket contents were donations, some was trash, with only a tiny bit falling into the “Where the heck does this go?” category. Voila!

pile #1, vanquished!
pile #1, vanquished!

Here’s another spot where a combination of donations and items to put in storage accumulated:

pile #2
pile #2

Vanquishing this one took an additional sorting stage:

sorting into keep in storage, keep and put away, and donate
sorting into keep in storage, keep and put away, and donate

Persistence pays!

pile #2 all gone!
pile #2 all gone!

I even took all the storage-bound stuff to the shed and the donations to the thrift store! DONE!
Just to prove I’m really not kidding about being subclinically OCD, I also cleared off both desks… the first wasn’t too painful:

desk #1 before
desk #1 before
desk #1 after
desk #1 after

Oh, and the top of the printer:

003

printer after
printer after

But this was truly the piece de resistance:

my poor, poor desk, before
my poor, poor desk, before

Can you imagine trying to work here? Of course not. That’s because it is impossible. However, I have been reading Lori Pickert’s Project-Based Homeschooling: Mentoring Self-Directed Learners, and right off the bat she dives into talking about the child’s workspace and how it needs to be easy to use and set up to show the work done there is valued. Well duh, don’t I need that in a workspace too? So I worked this area over with that in mind. I moved kid books to the kid shelves and put away what didn’t belong. I also selected a two-foot tall stack of books, magazines, and workbooks to give away. The end result?

a workspace I can use!
a workspace I can use!

Hallelujah! Anyone wanna take bets on how long I make it before it’s all covered up again? πŸ™‚

Author:

seeker, life learner, local food advocate, unabashed treehugger, herbalist, pontificator

5 thoughts on “Project Simplify Week Three: PILES!!!

Leave a Reply

