Posted in armchair psychology, search for meaning, writing

Learning To Rest

Every day myriad fleeting thoughts and half-formed ideas vie for the elite position (tongue firmly in cheek) of becoming this day’s post. Somewhere along the way I learned to be comfortable with leaving the unchosen on the cutting room floor… I’m not sure how or when that happened, only that it did, as I no longer have the paralysis in the face of sitting down to the page that I once had.

For the past few days I have had some form of upper respiratory shenanigans going on, and yesterday it just won out. I took the kids into Atlanta for the last day of the Go West! exhibit at the High Museum (if you ever visit Atlanta, it’s worth a visit) and at the end of the day I chose to simply go to bed.

But.

I felt guilty. I have been posting every day recently. I broke my stride. What will happen tomorrow? What if I have fallen off, like so many times before, and I don’t get back on for months or years? I am running out of time!

Well, tomorrow has arrived, I am here, I am posting. Look at that. Sometimes it’s not just ideas that need to be left on the cutting room floor. Sometimes it may be a mood, a belief, an opinion, an assumption… perhaps an entire day (because let’s be honest, some days suck). If we can leave those things, let them fall where they fall, we free ourselves to move on to the next thing. I can let myself rest when I need to without worrying that it means anything about what I’ll do next– except that most likely I’ll be less tired 🙂

If you need to rest today, but you’re struggling against it, I wish you a lovely nourishing nap from which you wake refreshed and rejuvenated… and guilt-free!

Author:

seeker, life learner, local food advocate, unabashed treehugger, herbalist, pontificator

7 thoughts on “Learning To Rest

  1. I blog every couple of days, usually 2-3 times a week. That works well for me. I find that I really need a break from blogging- it’s not just the time it takes, but it is emotionally draining in a way. Putting my thoughts into words brings me peace but it is a special kind of work and I just can’t do it every day. I like having days where I can just *be”, without trying to frame everything as a potential blog post.

    But I also find that the longer I go without writing, the harder it is to do it. I need it to be a regular routine or I start thinking of all kinds of reasons why I shouldn’t bother.

    1. I know that feeling– it is draining. Different than journaling. I also find that this way I respond to blogging, I also repeat in every other area of life, so it’s a small example of a LARGE lesson for me 😉 This week has been rather the whirlwind of forced rest… if that can be true…

  2. you taught me well! I don’t know if I would be as good at (often belatedly) catching myself if it weren’t for layers and layers of learning, from Gentle Heart Palm Up forward ❤ I have thought of womb class so many times this week! and, I admit, I have been saying, "but it's not winter anymore! can't I speed up now??" 😀

    1. Julia, thank you for saying such nice things about my classes. And for yr insightful jest.

      You are an amazing woman. I treasure all the exchanges we’ve had.

      Was Gentle Heart Palm Up the first class you took wth me?

      Hugs.

  3. I can’t remember for certain, but I think it was the second class. but I distinctly remember learning from that class– just beginning to learn, really– that it was not only okay to rest, to slow down, to take care of myself, but it is actually imperative to helping others. It was one of those truths that every cell in your body knows is true the instant you hear it, but before hearing it that way, in that first moment, you just hadn’t clued in, so it’s like a hard slap to the face at the same time 😉 love you!

    1. Wow, I got to slap someone! Joking aside, thank you for reflecting that class back to me. It is very useful feedback for me as the person who channeled its content. I love you. And you are so articulate!

Leave a Reply

